IO

réalisé par Jonathan Helpert

"Et si vous étiez la dernière personne sur Terre ?"

Sur une Terre post-apocalyptique rendue toxique , la majorité de l’humanité a abandonné la planète pour coloniser IO, une des lunes de Jupiter. Mais la jeune scientifique Sam Walden est restée en arrière en consacrant sa vie à trouver un moyen pour les Humains de survivre sur Terre. Après avoir envoyé une transmission radio pour essayer de localiser d’autres personnes, un homme nommé Micah arrive. Il pense qu’il n’ya aucun espoir de survie et compte bien prendre la dernière navette pour Io dans 48 heures.

Infos techniques

  • Résolution : 4K
  • Équipe : 8 artistes
  • Supervision : 5 semaines
  • Post-production : 11 semaines
  • Plans : 40
lookdev clouds simulation smoke
fire simulation mattepainting
rotoscopy matchmove
compositing

Breakdown

Décollage dans 3, 2, 1...
Toute l'équipe a travaillé jour et nuit sur ce projet pour livrer les VFX les plus crédibles possibles dans un environement post-apocalyptique. IO était notre première collaboration sur une grosse production qui a pavé le chemin pour bien d'autres projets de la division Film.

Défilez pour un breakdown sur le travail fait dans certaines scènes clé du film. Nous avons mis le paquet avec des nuages volumétriques, de la simulation de fumée et de feu, du mattepainting, de l’animation et bien plus.

IO

directed by Jonathan Helpert

"What if you were the last one on Earth ?"

In a post-apocalyptic time, the earth has been rendered toxic, and most of humanity has abandoned the planet and colonised one of Jupiter’s moons, IO. But young scientist Sam Walden has stayed behind and dedicated herself to finding a way for human beings to survive on Earth. After sending out a radio transmission to see if she can locate anyone else, a man named Micah arrives. He believes there is no hope of survival and intends to take the final shuttle to IO in 48 hours.

Technical infos

  • Resolution : 4K
  • Team : 8 artists
  • Supervision : 5 weeks
  • Post-production : 11 weeks
  • Shots : 40
lookdev clouds simulation smoke
fire simulation mattepainting
rotoscopy matchmove
compositing

Breakdown

Lift off in 3, 2, 1...
The whole team worked day and night on this project to deliver the most believable VFX possible in a post-apocalyptic sci-fi setting. IO was our first collaboration in a large production and it paved the way for many more projects.

Scroll down for a VFX breakdown to see the work we did on some key scenes for the movie. We went all-in with volumetric clouds and smoke simulation, fire simulation, mattepainting, animation, compositing and much more.